Building Code Standards Committee Board Members

The original Building Code Standards Committee [BCSC] was established in 1981 by Title 23, Chapter 27.3 of the Rhode Island General Laws. The current compliment of twenty-five (25) board members are appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate for three (3) year terms. The BCSC elects its own chairperson on an annual basis.


Wayne R. Pimental, ICC CBO, CFM  / Chairperson * #
Minimum Housing Official

Joseph L. Warner, Jr., CBO, CFM / Vice-Chairperson * #
Building Official (Municipality < 20,000)

Paul R. Alvarez
RI Building Trades Council

Bernard J. Bernard, III
Full-Time Certified Electrical Inspector [Retired / Inactive]

Edward J. Burman, Jr.
Superintendent of Building Construction

Robert E. DeBlois, Jr.

Alfred T. DeCorte, CBO #
Building Official (Municipality > 59,999)

Paul M. DePace, P.E.
Person with Disabilities

Cyndi Gerlach, AIA *
Registered Architect

James B. Gumbley
Fire Code Official

Frank A. Montanaro
General Public

Kevin A. Moran
RI Builders Association

David M. Murphy, CBO * #
Building Official (Municipality 20,001 - 59,999)

Michael A. Newman #
Master Plumber

Dana M. Newbrook, AIA
Registered Architect

M. David Odeh, P.E. *
Registered Professional Engineer -- Structural

Michael S. Paolucci
Class A Licensed Electrician

Walter J. Powers, Jr., P.E.
Registered Professional Engineer -- Electrical

Gordon W. Preiss, P.E. #
Registered Professional Engineer -- Mechanical

Ashley Robinette
Public Health Official

Stephen C. Turner
General Public

Joseph L. Walsh, Jr.
RI Building Trades Council

Seth Zeren
RI Builders Association

Registered Landscape Architect

Person with Disabilities


James Cambio, ICC CBO
Executive Secretary

W Keith Burlingame, Esq.
Legal Counsel


* = Member of the Executive Committee
# = Member of the Certification Subcommittee